Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing

Navi Mental Health Wayfinder

Sigma Theta Tau

Sigma Theta Tau is the Honor Society of Nursing, offering support and opportunities to nurses around the world with a variety of resources, including grants and awards. The Society was founded in 1922 at the Indiana University Training School or Nurses (now the Indiana University School of Nursing). There are approximately 520 STTI chapters around the world, from Japan to Kenya to Canada. Internationally, STTI supports two major research recognitions: The International Nurse Researcher and the Emerging Nurse Researcher.

Membership in the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame recognizes those who have achieved significant national and/or international recognition through their influential research. The Emerging Nurse Researcher Award recognizes the early career nurse researcher whose research is also making an impact in the profession.

Here at the University of Toronto, we are represented by the Lambda-Pi-at-Large chapter. Lambda-Pi-at-Large was formed in 1990 with the mission of supporting the learning, knowledge and professional development of nurses. The chapter offers nursing research awards as well as recognitions for Outstanding Nursing PhD, Teaching Excellence, and Research Excellence. In 2000 the Research Excellence award was renamed the Dorothy M. Pringle Award of Excellence for Nursing Research, in honour of Dean Emerita Dorothy Pringle, who strengthened our Faculty’s research focus during her tenure and launched the first doctoral nursing program in Ontario. The Teaching Excellence Award was renamed the Gail Donner Award for Teaching Excellence in 2002 in honour of Professor Emerita Gail Donner. Professor Donner served as Dean of the Faculty from 1999-2001, and also served as Director of Nursing Education and Research at the Hospital for Sick Children.

Sigma Theta Tau International

International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame

Linda McGillis Hall, RN, PhD, FAAN, FCAHS; FCNEI; inducted 2016

Emerging New Researcher

Quinn Grundy, RN, PhD; awarded in 2020

Dorothy M. Pringle Award of Excellence for Nursing Research

Kim Widger Headshot 2013

Kim Widger, RN, PhD, CHPCN(C); awarded in 2018

Photo of Craig Dale

Craig Dale, RN, PhD, CNCC(C); awarded in May 2017


Kristin Cleverley, RN, PhD, CPMHN(C); awarded in 2016

Lianne Jeffs Headshot

Lianne Jeffs; RN, PhD, FAAN; awarded in 2015

Monica Parry Headshot 2014

Monica Parry, NP-Adult; PhD; awarded in 2011

Kathy McGilton Headshot 2012

Kathy McGilton, RN, PhD, FAAN; awarded in 2010

Louise Rose

Louise Rose, RN, PhD, FAAN; awarded in 2010

Robyn Stremler 2013

Robyn Stremler, RN, PhD, FAAN; awarded in 2008


Ann Tourangeau Headshot 2009

Ann Tourangeau, RN, PhD; awarded in 2006

Linda McGillis Hall

Linda McGillis Hall, RN, PHD, FAAN, FCAHS, FCNEI; awarded in 2002

Faculty Member - Diane Doran

Diane Doran, RN, PhD; awarded in 2000

Gail Donner Award for Teaching Excellence

Denise Gastaldo Headshot

Denise Gastaldo, PhD; awarded in 2003

Faculty Member - Judy Watt-Watson

Judy Watt-Watson, RN, PhD; awarded in 2000

Award of Merit for Outstanding Nursing PhD

Jennifer Stinson

Jennifer Stinson; RN, PhD; awarded in 2007

Site Directory