Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing

Navi Mental Health Wayfinder

Council of Ontario University Programs in Nursing Awards

Excellence in Teaching Award

Sandra Merklinger Headshot

Sandra Merklinger, RN, PhD; awarded in 2015. Dr. Merklinger is committed to both practice and teaching, delivering high level education to our nursing and nurse practitioner students.

Monica Parry

Monica Parry, NP-Adult, PhD; awarded in 2014. Dr. Parry, Assistant Professor and Director of the Nurse Practitioner Programs at the Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, was recognized for her enthusiasm and commitment to education as well as leading innovation in the curriculum through the implementation of online programs.

Scholarship into Practice Award


Kristin Cleverley, RN, PhD, CPMHN(C); awarded in 2021. Professor Cleverley holds the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health Chair in Mental health Nursing Research. Her research focuses on transitions from child to adult mental health services, and patient- and family-centered care.

Photo of Craig Dale

Craig Dale, RN, PhD, CNCC(C); awarded in 2020. Professor Dale’s research focuses on fundamental patient care for acute and chronically critically ill adults including oral hygiene, pain, and communication. 

Martine Puts Headshot 2013

Martine Puts, RN, PhD; awarded in 2019. Professor Puts holds the Canada Research Chair in Care of Frail Older Adults at the University of Toronto. Professor Puts leads research that identifies how best to improve outcomes and quality of life for older adults with cancer through the use of comprehensive geriatric assessment.

Cindy Lee Dennis PhD FCAHS
Cindy Lee Dennis PhD FCAHS

Cindy-Lee Dennis, PhD; awarded in 2018. Professor Dennis holds the Canada Research Chair in Perinatal Community Health at the University of Toronto, and the Women’s Health research Chair at St. Michael’s Hospital and the University of Toronto (co-funded by the Ministry of Health and Long-term Care). Professor Dennis was recognized for her distinguished research career in women’s health, particularly related to encouraging breastfeeding and addressing perinatal mental health issues such as postpartum depression.

Kelly Metcalfe Headshot

Kelly Metcalfe, RN, PhD, FCAHS, FAAN; awarded in 2016. Dr. Metcalfe is an internationally renowned researcher in cancer genetics; her research on BRCA1 and BRCA2 mutations and their implications for women in terms of treatment decision-making has led to changes in the treatment options offered to women with breast cancer.

Louise Rose

Louise Rose, RN, PhD, FAAN; awarded in 2015. Dr. Rose, Associate Professor at the Faculty of Nursing, is dedicated to improving the experience of mechanically ventilated patients through an intensive research program that impacts practice.

Jennifer Stinson

Jennifer Stinson, RN-EC, PhD, CPNP, FAAN; awarded in 2014. Dr. Stinson, Associate Professor (Status) at the Faculty of Nursing, and a paediatric Nurse Clinical Scientist, is committed to conducting high quality, patient-oriented clinical research.

New Tenure Stream Faculty Contribution Award

Samantha Mayo, RN, PhD; awarded in 2017. Dr. Mayo received this award in recognition of her many contributions to excellence in teaching.

Doctoral Dissertation Award

Schroder Sattar, RN, PhD; awarded in 2019. Dr. Sattar received her doctorate in 2018. She is currently an Assistant Professor in the School of Nursing at the University of Saskatchewan.

Krista Keilty, RN, PhD; awarded in 2016. Dr. Keilty is currently a post-doctoral fellow at the Faculty of Nursing. She was recognized for her meticulous research on her dissertation, her research on the sleep of caregivers of children with complex needs being the first of its kind.  

Photo of Craig Dale

Craig Dale, RN, PhD; awarded in 2014. Dr. Dale,  now an Assistant Professor and CIHR Embedded Clinician Scientist at the Faculty of Nursing, was recognized for his research investigating important aspects of the oral care needs of patients receiving mechanical ventilation.

Kim Widger Headshot 2013

Kimberley Widger, RN, PhD, CHPCN(C);  awarded in 2012. Dr. Widger, currently an Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Nursing, received the award for her doctoral work which investigated the quality of paediatric end-of-life care from the parents’ perspective.

Teaching Innovation Award

Faculty Member - Maureen Barry

Maureen Barry, RN, MScN; awarded in 2010. Ms. Barry, a Senior Lecturer at the Faculty of Nursing, is dedicated to innovation in education, through new approaches, including the use of simulations in clinical courses, podcasting, and using e-presence technology.

Masters Student Award of Excellence

Jennifer Cohen, RN, MN-NP (Paeds); awarded in 2016. Ms. Cohen received the Dean’s Medal for highest academic achievement in the Master of Nursing program here at the Faculty of Nursing.

Alexandra Harris, RN; awarded in 2014. Ms. Harris is currently a  doctoral student in the Faculty of Nursing; she was recognized for her engagement in research and professional practice.

Linda Muraca, RN; awarded in 2008. Ms. Muraca was recognized for her outstanding potential for contributing significantly to the nursing community and enhancing nursing knowledge.

Award for Excellence in Professional Nursing Practice at the Undergraduate Student Level

Karen Frecker; awarded in 2016. Ms. Frecker was recognized for her excellent clinical knowledge and skills in her palliative care placement.

Margaret Saari, RN; awarded in 2011. Ms. Saari is currently enrolled in the doctoral program at the Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing; she was recognized for her dedication and and commitment to her patients, classmates and coworkers.

Hilary Hall, RN; awarded in 2009. Ms. Hall made a significant contribution through her leadership with the IMAGINE program, an outreach interprofessional health clinic for those who are homeless or under-housed. 

Award for Strategic Contribution to Nursing Education

Lianne Jeffs - small

Lianne Jeffs, RN, PhD, FAAN; awarded in 2015 to the Nursing Health Services Research Unit. Dr. Jeffs, Associate Professor (Status) is Co-Director of the Nursing Health Services Research Unit with Dr. Andrea Baumann (McMaster University) and co-recipient of this award with Andrea Baumann of McMaster University. Co-directors of the Nursing Health Services Research Unit, Dr. Jeffs and Dr. Baumann are recognized for the significant contributions the NHSRU has made to university nursing education and scholarship through research, knowledge translation and capacity building activities.

Site Directory